More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

According to an AOA survey, it shows that 83% of children between the ages of 8 and 17 use an electronic device for three or more hours each day. It is very common to see children passing the time by using electronic devices such as tablets and computers in their homes or even outside. The average age back when was a phone something big was approximately 14 but nowadays, kids have definitely jumped on the phone bandwagon, with the average age for getting a first phone has decreased to 10 years old. Some people believe that allowing kids to use electronics is better since can be very beneficial educationally and mentally. However, others are convinced that the early access of electronics would only cause serious negative effects such as addiction, isolation and developing poor social skills. Initially, allowing the kids to use electronics such as tablets has enormous advantages. It will make them skilled in technology which prepares them in this modern world where schools are starting to incorporate modern technologies in the classroom, making learning more fun and could set them up for a career in technology. Even playing games could be very beneficial for the kids since it helps in building confidence, encourages the players to meet goals, it also stimulates innovative thinking, strategic thinking, creativity, expands their imagination and it is certainly a stress reliever. Secondly, learning anything these days had become way easier than it was before. Exposing the kids to modern technology will definitely enhance their language skills because by reading eBooks or reaching for stories online they can learn so many words and even with the correct way to pronounce it if demonstrated with voice. In addition to that, parents can easily introduce flashcards to their kids or picture dictionaries to boost their vocabulary and also to train them on to look for word meanings when they come across an unfamiliar word. On the other hand, using electronic devices could have some harmful drawbacks. Unguided children spend up to 7 hours a day on their computers or tablets therefore many of them do not know how to swim or even tie their shoes. Also, if not properly administered by parents, electronics can cause serious negative effects like game addiction, lack of social skills, becoming stubborn with their parents or even having problems concentrating on their studies. Furthermore, there are sensitive contents over the internet that is not suitable or appropriate for the little kids that can be reached with a press of a button so, they have to be monitored perfectly that make sure that they’re always safe. To sum up, electronics could be seen as beneficial educationally and mentally for the kids despite that some people only believe that these tablets are harmful and dangerous to their kids. I personally believe that, electronics can be very valuable as there are tons of learning materials, but this is only achievable by personally guiding the children and with the right supervision to make sure..