Nowadays, more people are choosing to socialize online rather than face to face. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is an increase in the number of people who prefer to socialize online instead of in person. In my opinion, this is a negative development that leads to isolation, depression, and harmful risks. This essay will provide arguments to support my view. First, frequently adopting communication through the internet results in remoteness. Before the internet, people use to go out and meet their friends and relatives like in cafes, restaurants, and parks, whereas now they rather stay at home alone and do the chatting. As a result, people are confined to their rooms and avoid going to social gatherings or public functions without meeting other people. The solitude of this kind paves the way for depression and other stress related issues. Second, the online platform for socializing is having high risk when interacting with unknown people. Many people nowadays are possessing fake identities and hiding their true characteristics to take advantage of people's personal details. This is mainly concerned teenagers, who are impressionable and easily lead to harmful situations. For example, the cases of cyber bullying have increased drastically after the introduction of social networking sites. Moreover, there is no proper facility to monitor the chat and interaction with unidentified people at home, which makes it difficult for parents to interrogate. However, to socialize with kith and kins living in different cities, states or countries, the online medium is a pleasant boon. Even though, the personal attachment imbibed with the feeling of meeting a person face to face is recommended for a healthy relationship. In conclusion, although it has become more popular to socialize through the internet, it has brought about too many problems like segregation, depression, and risk factors for this to be considered a positive trend.