In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the last century, the trend of immigration from rural areas to cities has increased significantly, all around the world. It caused the decline of population in the countryside which has brought many issues to both areas besides the positive fact that people have got many chances to improve the quality of their life. In my view in the long term, the cons would outweigh the pros. In this essay, I will examine both points of view and introduce my standpoint a little more. Firstly, It is widely believed that cities have facilitated more in order to prepare a better lifestyle for their citizens. For instance, in big towns, you have access to various shopping malls, gyms, cultural centres, hospitals and so on which give you a wide range of options to choose the appropriate one for yourself. In addition, you have more opportunities for your career or education which is one of the most important factors that can encourage rural people seriously to immigrate. As far as I'm concerned, the reason behind it refers to the first factor, as there are more facilities for life in metropolitan areas, there should be more people to be employed in order to give those services. On the other side of the argument, it should be mentioned the fact that in this situation, rural areas are becoming more and more abandoned. They usually hold their elderly and their young ones move to urban areas to find better jobs and broaden their horizons. Consequently, after a while these areas become dead zones and their economic situations deteriorate as it goes. For instance, my grandparents' hometown which is farmland, has faced these issues and their local careers almost have folded in the last decades. Besides, in urban areas, the problems that are related to overpopulation such as contamination, traffic and accommodations increase considerably. As a result, governments should put aside significant resources to develop metropolitan' transport systems, infrastructures, residential buildings and so on to make a better life for their inhabitants. To put it in a nutshell, in my view, in the long-term, this situation can be harmful and would need to be allocated lots of resources to tackle issues such as pollution and developing infrastructures for cities with overpopulation and in my view it is better to focus more on countrysides and make more jobs opportunities in those places to balance it.