Teenagers face a lot of difficulties at home and at school. What are the causes for this? How can parents provide solutions?

During adolescent years a lot of children have trouble managing their studies and personal life. This essay will discuss firstly, how hormonal changes cause troublesome behaviour among teenagers and secondly, will also suggest how through effective counselling parents can help their children. The teenage period is considered to be the most sensitive period during a child’s development. During this time a young person goes through some natural physiological and psychological changes which causes some alterations in a person’s behaviour. These include a desire for freedom and curiosity to explore new things. Consequently, many children engage themselves in risky activities like smoking and drinking and end up losing focus on studies which results in deteriorating grades. In fact, a recent study conducted by the University of California concluded that chemical imbalances in kids aged between thirteen and nineteen had a strong correlation with rowdy behaviour and poor grades. A possible solution to this problem is counselling. First of all, parents must try to remain mindful of the difficulties their children might be facing during this crucial period of their lives. Furthermore, they must encourage open communication with their children and have discussions on a varying range of topics. For instance, a 2013 study showed that students who more often engaged in discussing their real life issues with their elders, were able to quickly overcome behavioural and academic issues. To conclude, natural bodily changes are the paramount reason why some teenagers face challenges at school and home. The most effective way to overcome this problem is coaching and effective communication between children and parents.