The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today’s world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whilst some people suggest that the acquisition of capacities for being a successful person could not be done in academic institutions, I could only partially agree with such opinions since advanced education could cultivate a person with essential knowledge in various professional fields. On the one hand, it is inevitable that there are some abilities that can only be learned from life experience, including flexibility and emergency handling. Hence, the opponents believe that the time spent at universities should be used for gaining real working experience to become competent employees in the future. For instance, the government in Australia highly value life experience, therefore, they cooperate with commercial institutions in various areas for student placement to provide more real experience instead of the knowledge in textbooks. On the other hand, I believe the value of higher education should not be overlooked for cultivating talents in professional fields, including medicine; technology; as well as science, which require a lot of academic knowledge. Moreover, youth are able to learn from their mistakes on campuses which causes less price than in a real working environment. Take doctors as an example, students spent years gaining necessary skills, on top of that, in the last few years of their studies they would be assigned to hospitals as interns to have real experience before they are able to work independently and become successful doctors. To summarise, I could only partially agree with the suggestion that crucial characteristics to be successful could not be learned from schools without real experience. In my perspective, higher educational institutions are capable of cultivating students with the necessary skills to have outstanding performance in professional fields which prompts them to be successful people despite some abilities that young individuals could only learn in the realå world.