Some teachers tend to reward students who achieve high academic results, others, however, support and reward students that show the most improvement. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that pupils attaining great academic results should be honoured, while others are in favour of those who demonstrate general advancement. This essay suggests that the students achieving great academic results should be recognized. This essay will discuss both view points. Learning institutes praise hardworking students. They keep records of high achievers over a period of time and commend brilliant learners. Diligent work of smart pupils incentivized to motivate the learners strive to work harder and foster healthy education. For instance, the Ministry of education in Saudi Arabi rewards SR 3000 in cash for first three students who score the highest in the annual high school exam. This is to say, these rewards will have a positive impact on students and will motivate them to take part in other academic competitions. Alternatively, some are in favour of commending learners who improve over a term or academic year. They believe that this will encourage who are at the bottom of the class and will enhance their overall study. This essay disagrees with this viewpoint because it will introduce mediocrity and it is unfair to those who have worked hard to achieve academic distinction. As a result, learners will tend to be more dependant on their mentors for grading them and will show less improvement over time that will have adverse consequences for the learners themselves. For example, pupils who are not attentive to studies through our the year and just show little improvement over a term should not be rewarded. In conclusion, it is important to commend and reward hard working students and providing them an academic distinction rather than just recognizing students who are less attentive to foster healthy academic system.