A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Throughout history, people have had a conflicted relationship with animals, adoring them as pets and yet exploiting them for food, entertainment and as research subjects. While some feel that this abuse is justified, others are strongly opposed. In this essay, I will discuss these views and explain why I feel that we should reduce our reliance on animals. Many people claim that animals exist solely for our use and therefore, have few, if any, rights. The food industry, for instance, relies on the mass production of animals, most of which are kept in cramped and sometimes appalling conditions, which sometimes amount to torture. Since these animals are destined for slaughter anyway, some argue that their quality of life is irrelevant. The medical, scientific and cosmetics industries also use animals as objects, conducting painful and often fatal experiments on them, with little regard for their rights. Many people feel that the results of such tests are crucial to humankind and thus justify this inhumane treatment. Despite this, others, myself included, feel that this exploitation of animals ought to be reconsidered. As they are sentient beings, capable of feelings and relationships, they deserve more respect. To achieve this, although Veganism may not suit everyone, it is certainly possible for people to cut down on meat consumption or at least make more ethical choices. In medical research too, the aim should be to reduce animal use, refine techniques and to replace them with other means. Given the range of alternatives available, the treatment of animals can no longer be justified. In conclusion, humans have built their lives on the backs of animals. While some feel comfortable continuing in this way, I believe we now have other options available that allow us to protect their rights and still maintain our quality of life.