Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learining a foriegn language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

No one can deny the fact that some experts argue that primary school is better for students to start learning a second language than doing it at higher grades. In my opinion, this will carry more benefits for the youngsters when they learn more advanced subjects and learning abroad compared to the minor problems it might bring. To begin with, according to child psychology, the child's brain has the ability to grasp more linguistic features than that of adults. This means, when they teach a second expression in early stages, they are able to be proficient with it before moving up in the ladder. Besides, that would help them focus more on learning other demanding subjects as they do not need extra effort to learn a new voice. Some of the schools in Sri Lanka, for instance, have started teaching English from grade one, and some parents claim that their child is making good progress in all the subjects. Teachers have identified this is because these children are able to understand the subject matters more quickly as they are not busy with learning a new phrase. In addition, this trend will put a strong foundation for children to learn abroad once they pass out of schools. In other words, since they are able to deal with another speech, they could start their higher education in a different country without spending time on breaking the style barrier. Moreover, this will help them blend with the locals which is inevitable when it comes to social survival in a different geographical location. For example, students in Singapore often apply for the universities in Spain, but they spend six months to learn Spanish as they are not taught the sound at primary schools. It is evident that these students do not gain the vocabulary at the same pace as children in primary schools do. On the other hand, some schools do not have primary school teachers to teach a foreign style. This is because governments have not identified the importance of teaching languages in the early grades; so that many schools in the countryside have problems in conducting these subjects. Therefore, having this kind of minor problems might cause problems for some portion of children in a country. In conclusion, even though there may have schools which do not have the resources to teach languages which would pave the way to separate children from exploring the horizons of knowledge, disadvantages of this trend is far more eclipsed by the advantages such as allowing children to focus more on learning demanding subjects.