Some people believe social media is very important in our daily life, other believe it is waste of time. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

The rising debate of whether social media is vital to our lives or just a waste of time has existed for as long as these platforms have. Therefore, people have come up with many reasons why. In this essay, I will discuss the key factors that kept this debate going. Some people believe that social media plays a huge role in our daily lives. Considering how it helps tremendously with our communication. This group also claims that one of the key benefits of these platforms is enabling people who might have problems when communicating with others in real life, such as individuals with disabilities. For instance, a person with hearing loss might find it hard to start a small talk when ordering coffee from their regular cafe. Yet they can easily debate something as complicated as politics or philosophy with a stranger online. On the other hand, there is a completely different opinion on this topic. Unlike the first group, this one thinks that interacting with such platforms on a daily basis might lead to an addiction. Therefore a big part of someone's life might be spent doing something unproductive. For example, some people start off their days by checking out their Instagram feed or X timeline, instead of starting off their mornings stretching or doing their bed. Despite those few minutes not seeming like much, they will keep adding up. And people will most likely regret not living that life in a couple of decades. In conclusion, both parties voice strong opinions with reasons that are just as powerful. However, it is clearly obvious that the second opinion relies on the concept of taking social media too far and overusing it. Apart from that, this is a strong tool that we should use for our own good. In my humble opinion, I think that a balance between the two could be achieved. As mentioned earlier, the use of social media platforms is a wonderful opportunity for our generation. Though it carries a possible risk of being used wrongfully.