Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people a better education. Agree or disagree.

Even though jails are one of the methods used by numerous nations to deal with the offensive issues, a viable solution to tackle this situation is to improve the quality of education provided to the individuals. This essay entirely disagrees with this statement because neither it will mitigate the crime ratio, nor the people will become wise with improved education. Prisons are one of the prominent method opted by countries because if people do not understand what could be the consequences of their actions, they will be more prone to commit crimes. Although in some cases people spend their precious time in prisons due to wrong verdicts made by the judges, this method punishes most of the unlawful elements of the society. For instance, a survey of BBC India says that when they asked 100 people, do they commit something illegal if their actions would not be considered as offensive and 87 out of them said yes, they will do it. As a result, imprisonment is a measure that governments should not refrain from their constitution. Study is a right for every individual, and it will help them to improve their skills, but morals and ethics cannot be taught even with the best education system. The reason is, primary or higher education can make one master of their field, it cannot change their beliefs. For example, in 2012, terrorist organizations have recruited a huge chunk of engineers. Not only these people were aware that they are doing something unethical, they also know that the consequences of their deeds. Therefore, current or improved education can make a person a better engineer or doctor, it cannot teach them to not to commit crimes. To conclude, the aforementioned points make it evident that when the courts of justice, announce the verdict not only it punishes the accused it also gives a sense of satisfaction to the victim. Moreover, education is a weapon to gain knowledge, it cannot halt their indulgence in illegal activities.