Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment, such as course work and projects, is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Traditionally, the only useful way of assessing a student's progress depends upon formal examinations whereas coursework or projects are not considered an effective way in this regard. I personally disagree with this situation because coursework and projects are better options than formal examinations because today's fast world emphasises developing soft skills rather than becoming successful in formal exams. Although taking formal examinations every semester to evaluate student's progress is widely acceptable, at present, it is generally regarded as an outdated way. The primary reason for being educated is to prepare for the future professional world which requires soft skills instead of theoretical knowledge. Through formal examinations, there are fewer opportunities to examine the soft skills of students. Hence, educational experts are emphasizing banning formal exams in educational institutions and establishing continual assessments. Continual assessment like giving projects and coursework helps the examiner to evaluate whether the students have gained their professional skills or not. According to the criteria of the projects, students are required to prove their creativity, problem-solving skills, interpersonal communication skills and so on which are needed to perform in their future professional fields. Therefore, most of the developed countries with advanced educational systems are stressing coursework and projects instead of examinations for evaluating students. To conclude, the importance of formal examinations is still fresh but continual assessment could be the most effective way of assessing a student's ability. It is essential to develop soft skills in today's competitive world and only continual assessment can help in this regard.