Some people agree with spending lots of money on a large wedding, while others think it is a waste of money. What is your opinion?

Marriage is an event used to legalize the relation into a husband and a wife, so some people believe in showcasing this occasion by spending a large amount of money on it, while other contradicts it. In my view, money should be spent cautiously on the celebration of the marriage ceremony. On the one hand, marriage is considered a very special day for the couple and their respective families, so most of the people want to make it memorable through different ways. To illustrate, these days, destination weddings are trending at exotic locations with expensive decorations, variety of cuisines on the food menu list, branded wedding dresses, and luxurious gifts. Secondly, these occasions, keep the society linked to their traditional beliefs and customs, which are being practiced while conducting the marriage ceremonies and thus, preserving the cultural heritage and maintaining the importance of relationships. Apart from it, the big fat weddings are considered as a status symbol by showcasing their financial power and the high profile guest list. On the other hand, the financial amount used for the wedding day can be utilized in a more productive ways. For example, it can be used to pay off any student debt of those who gets married immediately after passing out of their colleges, to make investments in their businesses, to buy a house rather than paying rent, to establish contacts and sharing ideas by travelling, and for the education of their future kids. Moreover, it is creating an unnecessary competition among the families and neighbours to give a lavish wedding party by borrowing the loans from the banks and staying with the debt later on in life. To recapitulate, I opine that regardless of momentary happiness provided by lavish ceremonies, marriages should be celebrated in the small ceremonies with limited gatherings, and saving the money for all the future endeavours of the newly formed couple.