It is well known that technological and scientific advancements have brought great changes in the range and quality of our food. Some people consider it an improvement while others believe that the change is harmful. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

Many people understand that the growing advancement of technology and science promotes the variety and quality of food. While some people think this is a positive improvement, others are sceptical of its potential negative consequences. I partially support the former view, for it can save thousands of lives of those suffering from starvation regardless of some dangers of products invented artificially. On the one hand, the improvement of machinery and science will lead to an increase in food, which promotes better health conditions for people around the world. In other words, people have more choices of different kinds of harvests. This allows them to absorb more essential nutrients and minerals, which provide more physical strength that supports their daily activities. For instance, a number of starving children in developing nations have already been saved as they are able to access more food imported from Western countries such as the United States whose technology is so advanced to produce healthy food. Therefore, it not only leads to a lower rate of death but also promotes their learning opportunities so they can gain various knowledge and skills, which sustains the local economy in the future. On the other hand, there is a threat of some agricultural products being created to harm people's health. Indeed, there are often serious side effects that come with artificially invented vegetables and fruits. Although a wide range of beans are being produced by people transforming their genes to contain more nutrients, the excessive consumption of such genetically modified food is likely to increase the rate of cancer and other diseases due to unexpected chemical reactions. Furthermore, the spread of these modified harvests may shorten their longevity in the long run. Consequently, there will be a growing sense of insecurity toward the food since many people start to doubt their biological content. In conclusion, I somewhat believe that incredible progress will be made in the range and quality of food with the latest automation and science because the growth of nutritious meals can save many lives, especially in developing countries. However, people should not neglect the fact that agricultural products whose genes are transformed by humans can be harmful and raise risks of getting serious diseases.