Wild animals have no place in the21st century, and the protection is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Symbiotic interactions among organisms are essential to the ecosystems; they provide a balance that can only be achieved by the organisms’ working together. As a result of rapid deforestation and industrialization, many species are on the brink of extinction, threatening the delicate balance of the ecosystem. No matter how insignificant some of them may seem, all existing organisms, let alone wild animals, play a crucial role and hence should be preserved. It may seem that dangerous carnivores in forests may have no role to play in our lives. However, barely are we aware how important they are to us. An imbalance in the predator to prey ratio has a direct impact on us. For example, a decrease in the number of carnivores will lead to an increase in the number of herbivores that would encroach upon our farmlands and destroy our crops. Moreover, it is the wild animals and plants that brought earth to life millennia of years before humans were born. This makes studying wild animals important to understand how life evolved. It also helps us understand and connect with nature and appreciate other forms of life. In addition to the above, wild animals are used as experimental subjects in various fields of studies such as medicine. Although by moving to cities, we seem to have separated ourselves from the wild, a lot of us do get excited by the idea of going to a forest or wild life sanctuary where we see these animals moving freely on the vast landscapes they belong to. There’s no doubt that wildlife photography, one of the most difficult genres in photography, is increasingly becoming popular. Therefore, it would be selfish of us to let a major part of nature get destroyed at least partly due to our harmful practices. Protection of wild animals is an investment and not a waste of resources in preserving our endangered planet.