One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

During the last few decades, technology has boomed in many aspects namely medical care; as a result, the more treatments are improved, the more upturn is happening in people’s longevity. While I concur that it has merits and downsides in equal measure, this essay will discuss both sides. To begin with the drawbacks, obviously, the more the population increases, the more monetary resources and accommodation are needed. In more detail, folks usually work until their 60s and for the rest of their life, they are dependent on pensions. So, if people live longer such as up to 100, definitely governments face serious financial issues. More than this, the elderly need special care due to their health conditions which by itself poses problems. For example, old individuals need to be checked up at least once a year; also, they need to be observed by doctors constantly in some cases which results in crowds in hospitals. On the other hand, increasing lifespan motivates people to set more goals for themselves and live happier. In more detail, it provides them with a great situation to follow their dreams. For instance, some do not possess enough time in their youth era to follow their interests or travel all around the world; but after retirement, they are able to make their dreams reality. Furthermore, they can spend more time with their families and grandchildren which is highly pleasant for them. In conclusion, however, boosting life expectancy is a magnificent chance for individuals in terms of enjoying life more than the previous generations, but generally it creates detrimental consequences on a global scale. Eventually, I suppose its disadvantages outweigh its benefits.