Many students take part time jobs whilst studying in university. Is this a good or bad idea?

Education plays an integral role in one’s life and requires an investment in the form of time, money and hard work. Hence, to afford the expense of the degree course, many students prefer to do work on a daily or weekend basis, which in my view, should be encouraged among students in their overall personality development. On the one hand, students doing jobs can feel them in a more financially secure position. To illustrate, they will be able to pay their rents, bills, transportation charges, college fee, and even student loan debt and thus, this will help to reduce the financial burden on them and their families. Secondly, managing studies and job at the same moment will develop time management skills among them and further enhance their interpersonal and soft skills development. Thirdly, these jobs will support them to build their curriculum vitae and hence helping them to grab a job opportunity at a good company. Fourthly, staying busy in the tight study-work schedule will divert teenager's minds from being involved in undesirable and unlawful activities. On the other hand, these jobs can increase the burden on the students at this tender age and thus, making them suffer from the low academic performance because sometimes, the time spent in doing such jobs and the salary paid is not worth the amount of studies affected. Moreover, their hectic schedule will leave no leisure period for their hobbies or nurture their hidden talents. To recapitulate, I opine that regardless of few drawbacks which can be managed by proper planning, students should be encouraged to take the work positions for their financial security and well rounded development.