Many people think that happiness relies upon the individual, while others think it is affected by other factors. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Happiness is considered as a state of mind by many people, however, some believes that there are several factors which affects the level of happiness among individuals. There are valid arguments for both the sides, but in my view, various internal and external factors play an important role in making a happy person. On the one hand, it is believed that the happiness is controlled by one’s mind and soul. In fact, people practice yoga, meditation, and attend various inspirational lectures to have a good control over their bodies and minds during all the bad and good days of their lives and thus, helping them in gaining a good mental health and inner peace. For instance, the powerful personalities of this world sometimes commits suicide due to a poor state of mind, low self esteem and a depressed mood despite of owning all kinds of fortunes. On the other hand, many individuals find happiness in sharing a close family bond, a good level of satisfaction in the workplace, the fulfilment of their dreams, and having a healthy life. For example, some serious ailments like cancer will definitely lower the morale of a person, and the broken families with the loss of unity and harmony among family members will affect the inner peace of an individual. Moreover, it has been considered that weather like spring and sunny days are more pleasant than cold freezing winters, to have green surroundings reduce the stress level, and even having a pet helps to escalate the happiest life. To recapitulate, I opine that a good psychology of an individual will help to attain an elated soul, however, it cannot be denied a person can be happy if everything is going against the expectations.