Some today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are some today who would argue that the internet has sufficiently supplanted the role of traditional education so as to make it redundant. In my opinion, though the internet opens up possibilities for learning, schools are a crucial filter. What separates the internet from how other advances in technology have impacted education is greater accessibility to information. It is no exaggeration to claim that nearly everything can be found on the internet. School age children can access educational videos on YouTube, read online articles and use interactive learning platforms. As they get older, the possibilities expand and include scholarly articles, video-conferencing platforms like Zoom, and online newspapers from every country in the world that can be translated to your native language in modern internet browsers. There is immense potential for auto-didacts and parents who choose to homeschool. Nonetheless, schools are the real world editors of the internet. A lot of news is thrown up instantly and not carefully vetted. This means that students can get led into dark corners such as alt expresses position, direction or location, or point in time at ALT -left and right websites that specialise in sensationalised propaganda. Children and teens are especially susceptible to what they read online as they might be less skeptical denying or questioning the tenets of especially a religion sceptical. Teachers have more life experience and their training helps them approach information critically. They can then pass these skills on to their pupils by teaching them how to read closely, spot biases, and check information through a number of primary and secondary sources. Without teachers, students are more likely to be indoctrinated rather than educated. In conclusion, teachers are important to dispel the inherent risks of unreliable online information. Schools and administrators ought to take a long-view in order to assess the value of the internet for learning.