Some people say that computer skills should be added to primary subjects in elementary school such as reading, writing and math. How far do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In our contemporary life, it has always been a controversial issue over whether the elementary curriculum should include technological skills, specifically computer ones. As far as I am concerned, I firmly support this belief and my reasons are outlined below. We may point out the indisputable fact that computer skill plays an indispensable role in the developing world; hence children should learn them as soon as possible. A prime example of this would be that in the 1800s, when computers had not been invented yet, three main subjects, namely Mathematics, reading and writing were pivotal for the young then. Moving on to the present, in which computers have already appeared, the compulsory subjects should be comprised of not only the aforementioned counterparts, but also technology as well, since technology has now been in existence in a number of aspects of our lives, namely education and cooking. Another key rationale underpinning this view is that computer skills can bring a plethora of other skills to primary children, like cooperative, controlling and communication skills, just to name a few, which can help them to be better-equipped for the future. For instance, during the Coronavirus pandemic, children are advised to stay at home and study; therefore, their skill in using technological devices to connect with other people is of paramount importance. By this I mean, when studying with classmates and teachers on the Internet, the young ought to interact with them to get the best out of the lesson (co-operative skills); they must resist the temptation to entertain during studying period (controlling skills); and they have to communicate with each other during a group discussion (communication skills). On the one hand, it is understandable why some individuals are of the fervent conviction that the young individuals can be addicted to online video games for example. Advocates of such a view would argue that the young counterparts can abandon their studies and dive in the seemingly dangerous virtual world. On the other hand, such a scenario is exaggerated because of the fact that a large number of technological devices are now equipped with Kids mode. A prime example would be that YouTube, the number one online video-sharing platform in the world, has recently invented an app called YouTube kids, which prevent inappropriate content and limit the children’s screen time. This will eventually help prevent excessive entertainment from the young. To summarize, I would therefore say that there are justifiable grounds for advocating the view that elementary schools should include technological skills as one of the compulsory subjects.