International tourism has become more popular in recent decades. However, this can have a considerable impact on the countries which attract large numbers of visitors. What positive and negative effects does tourism have on countries which are popular destinations?

Nowadays, people around the world can travel more easily compared to a couple decades ago. Although it can certainly develop the tourism industries, it can both create a number of benefits and drawbacks to local cities and people. In terms of the positive aspects, foreign people travel worldwide can not only boost the tourism industries, but also create more job opportunities for local people, such as taxi drivers and tour guide, reducing the rate of employment. Furthermore, the government should make the most use of tax revenues from visitors. In other words, the authorities can improve tourism infrastructure and facilities such as trains, airports and roads. Creating a more effective and affordable transport system for citizens and for foreign visitors. In addition, governments can create a further relationship with foreign countries to enhance their position in the world. On the other hand, a larger number of visitors can result in numerous negative effects. Firstly, members of the country will ultimately live in a worse condition. Air pollution created by overcrowded traffic and public transport services. Secondly, diseases and be spread easily and extremely rapidly, which can cause to epidemics, perhaps the best example of this would be “COVID-19”, spreading across the world and leave a significant number of deaths so far in 2020. Finally, governments should put more attention on maintaining historical sites and popular tourist attractions where foreign visitors visited. In conclusion, as advantages and disadvantages mentioned above. People should be told to travel in a more eco-friendly way to avoid damage to local cities and our planet.