Please write in support of the following proposition:  “Tourism is becoming increasingly important as a source of revenue to many countries but its disadvantages should not be overlooked.” You should write for an educated, non-specialist audience. Write at least 250 words using your own ideas, knowledge and experience.  You should support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

The travel industry is getting progressively significant as a wellspring of income to numerous nations. But, even if tourism has lots of advantages, there are as many drawbacks.   One evident benefit of tourism is economic growth, especially in developing countries. In other words, hotels, restaurants, bars, and entertainment facilities all see an immediate influx, which results in them seeking more employees, giving more opportunities to the locals and more incomes to the country. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to travel. The increasing crime rate is one of them. Some locals see tourists as easy prey because not only are they in unfamiliar territory, but also they carry visible items of wealth. Take the city of Paris as an example. Pickpocketing is the most prevalent form of crime targeting tourists in the French capital. Therefore, travellers always have to be vigilant with their personal affairs and hide any form of wealthiness. Another disadvantage would be the bad effects it has on the environment. Although tourist money might be put to good use, travel does put burdens on natural resources. A good illustration of this is pollution. When a lot of people visit, they invariably burden the transportation system and contribute to pollution. Aviation produces approximately 900 million tonnes of carbon dioxide each year, which impact the air quality, thus the health. Indeed, long-term exposure to polluted air can have permanent health effects such as developing diseases like asthma, bronchitis, and possibly cancer. To conclude, while there are many advantages of travelling, the negatives involved can have important and long-lasting effects to be disregarded.