How Performance management works in time of crisis?

Performance management in time of crises INTRODUCTION:- As a typical “black swan” event, COVID-19 took the world by complete surprise. This newly identified coronavirus was first seen in Wuhan, the capital of Hubei province in central China, on December 31, 2019. As we enter APRIL 2020, the virus has infected over 2,891,073 people, and led to more than 201,501 deaths. More importantly, more than 210 countries are now reporting positive cases of COVID-19 as the virus spreads globally, impacting communities, ecosystems, and supply chains far beyond China. Crisis is conquered through a positive combination of talents and competencies. Performance management is designed and supported by human resource and is largely delivered by managers that needs to deliver it effectively in order to achieve and maintain organizational performance. Performance management practices within an organization enables and encourages more focus on the strategic issues of connecting employee and organization performance. In recent days, it’s become commonplace to call COVID-19 an “unprecedented crisis ”. It is a politically convenient cliché, implicitly letting leaders in many Western nations off the hook for their manifestly slow and insufficient responses to the pandemic. How could they be expected to know what to do, when confronted by a completely unfamiliar enemy? 1: ENGAGE all in framing the crisis and get your framing right. 2: EXPLORE the crisis and how to fight it. 3: EXPLAIN what you have decided, why and how it will work, then commit to action. 4: EXECUTE with focus and constant monitoring. 5: EVALUATE, learn and adapt efforts, as well as your leadership, as new information and feedback comes in. The right time to prepare As crisis recedes, it reveals opportunities for remedial action. Fresh, painful experiences produce a rare degree of political will to prevent future crises; the exaltation of survival spurs high morale and hopefulness. Presumably, this unique combination of emotional conditions will prevail when the COVID-19 lockdowns are finally lifted. Good crisis managers will capitalise on the moment rather than drift towards complacency. The flaws in preparedness and responsiveness that this pandemic has exposed in our supply chains, political leadership, healthcare public policy, among others, should not be forgotten. “It is not sufficient to learn; one must also adapt one’s organisation, government and country so lessons are truly integrated.”