Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people insist that volunteer services like charity activity should be introduced to the high school curriculum, whereas others think it should not be treated as part of mandatory education. Nonetheless, I personally lean more toward the latter view, simply because the level of benefits is heavily affected by the individual point of view or circumstance. There are several cases that unpaid service would be beneficial experience for high school children. For instance, they would be able to develop a sense of community or meet new people regardless of their individual skill or aptitude. According to a research paper issued by Cambridge University last year, the majority of successful people in business intentionally participate some volunteer activity at an early age in order to create connections for the future. Considering that childhood is a preparation period for a member of society, it is no doubt providing them such opportunities are more practical and fruitful idea. Turning to the other side of the argument, it could be acknowledged as a just hindrance for achieving an individual goal. Firstly, for the people who are considering to go to the university as their future plan, their top priority may not make connections but building up academic knowledge or conquering examination. Secondly, there might be students who dedicate their time for part-time job to set aside money as a tuition fee or provide their family. From their point of view, volunteer work is just wasting their time and not necessarily essential. In conclusion, while some people say imposing unpaid service for high school students is significant, we cannot ignore the fact that it has not only a positive aspect but also a negative side. I believe that as long as it has some drawbacks, it should not be a compulsory subject and needlessly deprive student's precious time.