Nowadays many people wear western clothes rather than their traditional clothes. What are the reasons for it? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this materialistic world, the latest innovation, fashion trends holds great significance. Western clothes are also much more pervasive (spread) than traditional costumes. As far as I am concerned, there are a variety of reasons for the prevalence of western clothes. In my prospective, this growth will have beneficial effects, but negative side cannot be underestimated. Starting with the factors behind the popularity of western clothes, first of all, western clothes are stylish that is why, a lot of people, especially, the youth is quite fascinated to wear these type of dresses. Another aspect is advertisement. To clarify it, most of the companies/ organisations of western clothes show numerous adverts on the television, newspapers and magazines too, due to which, youth gets alluded towards these kind of attires. Thus, they give preference to wear modern/ western clothes. Along with this, many people like to pretend (show) their social status in front of others, so, labelled clothes help them to fulfil their motive because western clothing gives a deep assortment (variety) choices of different events and occasions. Dressing up modern clothes bestow (provide) a host of benefits. Firstly, in order to boost public image, people have a bias (partiality) towards modern things instead of traditional ones. Nowadays, people’s desire to become eyewitnesses and participation of a prank, they, therefore, update every latest movement to wear modern clothes. Secondly, by chasing this contemporary direction, people are likely to build their social circle and broaden their horizons. Although, traditional clothing keeps the history alive, modern dress enables people, socialise with anyone in all corners of the world. It also reduces the gap between cultures as well as social classes such as the rich and the poor. However, if this tendency continues to be practiced by the mortals then it would cause detrimental effects on the culture. In conclusion, people should keep a balance in all things and become a follower of western direction, or vice versa. As, they can still follow the western trend, but should not shy away from traditional clothes/ our roots.