Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe this is not only better for their health but also benefits the world as a whole. Discuss this view and give your opinion.

In today's world, many people forgo the consumption of meat and fish, stating it has significant health benefits and at the same time help fulfil our moral obligations. While sacrificing meats can have several advantages, there are significant drawbacks as well; strict vegetarians tend to have severe nutritional deficiencies, vegan life can be expensive, and there is usually a limited selection. Firstly, a wholly vegan lifestyle may lead to severe nutritional deficiency as we human beings are built to be omnivores resulting in serious protein and calcium deficiency, as the daily dietary intake of these nutrients will not be met. Secondly, from an economic standpoint vegan meal can be more expensive in comparison to non-veg and may not be sustainable in the long term; additionally, there are a limited variety of veg options in most restaurants and may cause our daily meals to become boring. Conversely, strict vegetarian meals can result in decreased diabetics and obesity as there are less saturated fats in vegetables compared to meats, this could be perfect for people wishing to lose weight or people suffering from co-morbidities in the short-term. However, it is best to consume both types of meals together as they complement each other, resulting in a healthier, more sustainable way of life in the long-term, for example, veggie meals tend to have high fibre content which can relieve constipation caused by non-veg meals. In conclusion, in my opinion, it is best to consume a mixed type of food as it can lead to a healthier and more sustainable lifestyle; however, one should keep in mind that moderation is the key.