Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self employed?

Presently, most people prefer self-employment as opposed to working for a company. The main reasons behind this are due to increased flexibility and autonomy. While there are many advantages in favour of self-employment, there are some noticeable drawbacks as well. As mentioned above, a smaller independently owned company offers large amounts of flexibility. If an aspect of their business is not working and rather than sit in a board room and convince numerous heads of the conglomerate, they can execute their decisions far more quickly. Similarly, self-employed private companies enjoy superior autonomy as their stocks are privately owned as opposed to publicly traded companies. On the other hand, smaller companies do not necessarily have the same negotiating power that many large corporate organisations wield. They might have to purchase items for their business at a much higher cost, leading to decreased profit margins. Similarly, in the event of economic recession, more prominent companies can afford to take in reduced profits while many self-employed, companies can not; some even go bankrupt during these times. In conclusion, while there are many advantages to being self-employed, there are definite drawbacks which need to be taken into account when looking for work. In my opinion, for individuals offering their expertise as a service, it is better to be self-employed. For example, a doctor can operate his family practice. For a business which manufactures products to be sold, it is better to work for organisations as it offers increased job security in worse case scenarios.