Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that these days fast food has already become common worldwide.As scientists claim, it is not a healthy option and may lead to a great deal of illnesses. In my view, implementing huge taxes on junk- food manufacturers is a good way to reduce their production and, consequently, might result in people choosing healthier alternatives. On the one hand, increasing taxes within the given industry may lead to a lower number of entrepreneurs wanting to establish their fast food business. As a result of this, governments will be able to hinder the development of the sphere. Moreover, substantial taxes may discourage existing companies to continue operating, as in this case they are supposed to face significant losses of income. The less junk food produced all over the world, the less it will be consumed. And this can slightly force majorities resort to other, healthier, organically-grown food. On the other hand, authorities can also encourage people to eat organic food through public education and expanding awareness about the potential harm that can be caused by unhealthy meals. For instance, healthy eating might be integrated as a subject in school, college curricula, thus, informing the masses about the advantages of consuming natural food and consequences of the other eating habit. But, the weakness of this method is that it cannot grasp adults who have already graduated from any kinds of educational establishments. So, the effectiveness is quite low, which in turn again justifies the policy of increasing taxing unhealthy food. To conclude, although governments can deal with the situation by means of public education, this policy is not very effective, as it approaches only a particular group of the total population. Therefore, I believe imposing substantial taxes on unhealthy foods is the optimum variant, because it forces manufacturers to produce less junk food and consumers to choose healthier options.