Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems, To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Being a foreigner in a country where everything is new, can be a complicated thing. Communicating in a tongue other than what you are used to can lead to difficulties in getting along with the local people and also hinder our day-to-day activities. I personally agree with this notion since a foreign accent can cause a language barrier and social isolation. To begin with, learning a new language is a time-consuming and difficult task and to add to this, sounding like a native is an incredible feat in itself. So, try as we may, our pronunciation and intonation will be off which will make us stand out more. Consequently, the citizens of that country are prone to alienate us, making socialising a problem. For example, many expatriates suffer from depression and anxiety due to which they cannot prosper at work or in academics and their performance seems to suffer. Furthermore, the problem becomes even bigger when foreigners have to go out just to fetch groceries or have to find some unusual locations due to their inability to familiarise themselves with the road signs or sign boards. These types of practical hurdles can result in a horrible experience. On top of that, some natives might even discriminate against them or even harass them. Additionally, chances are significantly higher for foreigners of getting tricked or taken advantage of. In conclusion, people living in a out of their native nation have to face myriad of social and practical issues. This is due to the fact that having a different way of talking can confuse locals and make them isolate the foreigner instinctively.