The costs of international travel are decreasing and tourism is growing. What are the advantages and disadvantages of increasing tourism activity in different countries?

It is true that there has been an exponential growth in tourism because of the decreasing cost of international travel. However, while tourism results in more income to the host country and the opportunity to propagate their culture, it also leads to the visitor destination becoming expensive for locals and causing environmental damage. On the one hand, there are obvious benefits to the host country due to the growth in their tourism industry. Firstly, the increase in international tourists leads to additional income to the host country. They bring in the most important foreign exchange that increases the country's foreign currency reserve. Most tourists spend money locally on food, accommodation and in purchasing memorabilia’s, which results in income growth for the local population. Moreover, host countries are able to transfer their culture, including food and language to the tourists. If these tourists have an entrepreneurial spirit, they may open restaurants serving the visiting country's cuisine. As a result, the food may be famous in other parts of the world. For example, Pizza, which is being mainly found in Italy before the advent of large-scale international travel. Due to this, many major cities around the world have restaurants serving Pizza. However, there are also downsides associated with the growth in tourism. The primary problem is that once a location becomes a tourism hotspot, major retails and hotel chains fancy to establish themselves in these locations. Consequently, the real estate prices go up and it becomes difficult for many locals make ends meet. Another problem is the effect it has on the environment. The amount of waste generated at a tourist location is directly proportional to the increase in the number of tourists. These wastes usually end up in landfills and local water bodies, thus, damaging the local ecosystem. In conclusion, host countries benefit from adding revenue and by passing their cultural value to tourists, they also have to deal with the downsides associated with the increase in property prices and damage to their flora and fauna. Therefore, countries should plan and invest in maintaining their tourist destinations.