All cars that burn fossil fuels should be banned and electric cars should replace them. Do you agree or disagree?

Cities all around the world have witnessed the adverse effects of global warming, as a result, many are convinced to ban traditional gasoline powered cars and replace them with cleaner and greener alternatives such as the electric cars, in order to safeguard the environment. In my opinion, this is a right approach as vehicles running on fossil fuels have detrimental effects on the atmosphere, because of the release of air pollutants, while also making a lot of noise while driving. The main reason of global warming is the harmful pollutants that are released into the surrounding when conventional fuels are burned. Traditional fossil fuel driven vehicles use petrol or diesel to generate power, which in the process releases harmful particulate into the atmosphere causing pollution. However, electric vehicles do not use such polluting source as fuel, whereas they are powered by electric charged batteries, which is a much cleaner source of power. According to a recent report published by the Transportation Ministry in Canada, since the introduction of electric vehicles in the Canadian market three years back, there has been a significant increase in the air quality index of cities like Toronto, Victoria and Ottawa. Secondly, electric cars are much more silent as compared to their fuel powered cousins. Every petrol or diesel powered car has a peculiar sound because of the combustion that takes place in their engines. Some driving enthusiast may be fond of this sound, however many would find it irritating. Since electric cars do not rely on such engines, and rather generate power from their electric engines, they are almost silent in operation. For example, the Tesla's model X, the best offering from the world's top electric car manufacture, holds the world record to be the most silent electric car. In conclusion, electric cars do not cause air pollution, since they are electric powered and they also cause less noise owing to its near silent electric motors. Due to this advantage, the cars that run on fossil fuels must be barred from operating on the streets while the electric vehicles take their place.