Some people believe that television is a powerful educational tool. Other people believe that television is nothing more than mindless entertainment and should be discouraged. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Television has become an integral part of our everyday life; some highlight its significant educational prowess while others forsake it as nothing more than a distraction which provides wholesome entertainment. In my opinion, there are significant advantages to owning a TV set; however, there are some drawbacks that need to be considered. Firstly, as mentioned above television if utilized correctly can be a very handy educational tool, channels like National Geographic frequently show documentaries which are informative and educative to students; for example, teachers can play a small recording at the start of the class to deliver essential background information; this could make the class more engaging at the same time facilitate individual thinking as people tend to pay better attention to audiovisual aids like documentaries in comparison to overly monotonous orally delivered classes. Secondly, TV set provides necessary family bonding along with wholesome entertainment; it helps parent's de-stress after a long exhausting day at the same time, in addition to enabling quality family bonding as it is much more fun to watch telly together as a group, than alone. Conversely, the biggest criticism faced by television is that they encourage violence; a tv show or movie may showcase and in some cases, glorify violence as part of providing entertainment, and many of our younger impressionable audience might try to imitate the above-mentioned scenes. A solution to this could be parents and teachers, ensuring children watch only age-appropriate tv or movies. In conclusion, television if used appropriately, can significantly aid teachers in educating students, relieve boredom, at the same time facilitate family bonding; however, care should be taken in choosing age-appropriate content.