The growth of Online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Online shopping has become extremely popular nowadays; many consider it to be an extremely positive development, while others believe that it will eventually lead to the demise of physically operated stores in the near future. In my opinion, there are significant advantages to online shopping; however, there are some notable drawbacks which needs to be considered. Firstly, online shopping offers a much more extensive selection to the consumers, for example, customers can browse through thousands of catalogues before purchasing on sites like Amazon and Ebay; they can use advanced tools which can take into account an individual’s budget, the average customer rating of the product based on previous purchases as well as real-time tracking once the item is purchased. Secondly, online retailers don’t have to pay rent like traditional stores as items can be stored in warehouses before being shipped off to buyers; Thus, they can be extremely cost-effective and economical to sellers. Consequently, online shopping offers increased convenience to consumers as they do not have to travel long distances to make the purchase in physical stores, it can be done comfortably at home with the click of a button. Conversely, physical stores allow customers to try the product before making a purchase, ensure that it is of right fit or size, for instance, when buying jeans or shirts, consumers can physically wear the clothes in physical stores, the same cannot be said about online shopping. If the majority of the vendors choose to sell items online, this could result in shutting down of physical owned stores, as well as many of its employees becoming jobless. In conclusion, while online shopping offers consumers significant benefits, there are important drawbacks, that should be taken into account before making a purchase.