For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Skills such as reading, writing, and math have always been considered important. With the invention of computers, some people ponder that computer skills should a form part of the education system too. I firmly believe that such skills should be a compulsory subject of the curriculum because people can get better jobs and solve arduous problems with the help of this technology. Firstly, technical skills should be compulsorily taught in the schools and colleges because companies are looking for those candidates who have at least basic knowledge in this field. This is because people who do not possess the requisite skills in the area of computers are not efficient. In other words, they will find several adversities in getting a decent job. For example, a leading job portal reports that 95% of companies are seeking those employees who are well versed in this criteria. Thus, I completely believe that introducing this skill will eventually help the prospective job candidates to tackle the competition in their workplaces. Secondly, computers can solve complex problems that arise in the workplace with the help of artificial intelligence. Computers have brought about a paradigm shift in the way work is now being performed. Despite the fact that some sort of human intervention is required, most of the jobs in any domain can be performed efficiently with computers. For instance, a survey conducted by the Christ University revealed / found that most of the complex problems at the workplace could be solved with the help of computers using artificial intelligence. To conclude, computer lessons should be made a mandatory part of the school curriculum because in this day and age, it is impossible to live or work without computers.