Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people assume that students should be taught specific abilities at secondary school rather than learn some ability and mix with others with various capabilities in a class. Each opinion has pros and cons, but, I personally think the drawbacks of streaming outweigh the benefits. Being professional in a specific capability is one of the advantages of streaming pupils. If the capability of a teenager is known correctly, it will be improved quickly by teachers. Students will gain knowledge of their ability rather than others, therefore, they can be professional in their capabilities and would be more successful in their career. For example, if a child has a talent for working with computers and he/she is streamed, it’s likely that he or she will become a professional computer engineer. However, streaming has some disadvantages. Weakening in other fields of knowledge and science is one of the cons. When pupils study a specific skill and improve on it, he or she isn't able to learn other subjects. These days there are many problems in human life and if a pupil knows just one or two abilities he or she won’t solve the life problems so it’s needed that all children know all abilities. Another disadvantage of streaming class is damaging the student's psychic state. It’s really important that the capability of a pupil is figured out correctly and is taught by right methods and approaches. If the ability of a teenager is misunderstood in a class, he or she won’t get an acceptable grade and won’t be successful in education. Thus, the teenager thinks he or she is unable to learn and the mood is getting worse. As we have seen there are both advantages and disadvantages in streaming pupils at the secondary level but, in my opinion, the latter outweighs the former.