A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, animals have considerably contributed to many aspects of the human’s life. People have different views about whether or not animals should be treated as humans. Although it can be argued that animals are the significant sources of drugs and foods, I am of the opinion that they should be considered to have the equivalent rights as humans. On one side of the argument there are people who believe that animal exploitation is necessary for fulfilling the demands of humans. The main reason for believing this is that many important medical discoveries involved experimentation on animals. Beside providing substantial sources of food, several types of animals such as gorillas and mice, which have some physical characteristics in common with human, giving tremendous benefits of medical testing. The group of people maintains that employing animals for researching may bring immense opportunities for seeking new methods for curing the diseases. I do not think these kinds of arguments stand up to scrutiny as I am of the opinion that animals must be on a par with humans. Firstly, according to various experiments, the scientists demonstrate that animals feel as much as pain as humans do when they are kept in cages for a long period. In addition, a number of animal experiments, which are done for cosmetics or decoration, not to find the cures for diseases, seemed like meaningless. Finally, it is widely known that almost categories of vitamins and nutrients, which contribute to human health, can be taken from fruits and vegetables. To sum up, although there are strong arguments for and against treating animals as humans, I would argue that there is sufficient evidence to demonstrate that this is not the case, and, therefore, actions must be taken to improve the rights of animals.