In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in in finding out about the history of the house or building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

In some countries, people often show an increased enthusiasm for searching for the history of their residence. There are plenty of reasons behind this but different myths associated with the houses and people ’s interests appear to be the significant courses for this. People find different methods to search for this. Among that, this essay will identify the Municipal Council and information gathered from residents nearby as the primary options to research the past. To begin with, people at present, are curious about their new placement of living, how it would look like and especially the background of the building. Because there are certain myths and crime incidents associated with very old buildings, which are unsuitable for living. For example, research carried out by the University of California by selecting old houses in a particular area of New York City revealed that three houses out of five had a mysterious past. Another reason is that, people are interested in living in a house with a great history which makes them feel proud. Some people are keen on history and they love to have antique stuff surrounded by them. As a consequence, they are heavily concerned about the background of buildings and they tend to purchase if there is a historical value. Although there is an ample amount of resources available to research the history of buildings, the majority of people get the information from the Municipal Council of a particular city because of the accuracy of the data. For instance, the Municipal Council in Melbourne City maintains a fully functional database with all the information regarding the residents, special incidents, and activities over the years of each and every building and it can be traced back up to 70 years. Another option to search for history is to ask the neighbours near the residence. Although it does not seem an appropriate way to collect information compared with the previous option, ever since people have been using it. However, it is necessary to get information from a group of people to increase the accuracy of data. In conclusion, people are really concerned about the history of wherever they live because, in some people, history is instilled in their blood. As a consequence, they are keen on exploring it. Some people are not interested in living in a habitat with a bad history. Therefore, before shifting to a new building, they tend to check out the background. People use various forms of resources to obtain information regarding history. Primary sources are the Municipal Council and asking from residents nearby. Anyway, the most accurate method is taking data from the Municipal Council database because asking from people is always associated with a possibility of bias.