In the future, it seems more difficult to live on Earth. Some people think more money should be spent on researching another planet to live on, such as Mars. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the future, if certain global issues persist, it will become more challenging to sustain human life on Earth. Some people believe that a large expenditure should be made on exploring other planets to survive, such as Mars. From my perspective, I partly agree with this assertion. While it may have advantages in some aspects, others seem to be ineffective. In this essay, I will discuss both views to support my opinion. On the one hand, the consumption of natural resources is uncontrolled and depleting. For example, the exploitation of fossil fuels, such as coal, gas, and oil, to satisfy the energy demands of many industries could release a huge amount of CO2, leading to pollution in water, the atmosphere, and so on. Therefore, research for new planets to colonize will play an important role in creating additional livable places in the new world. On the other hand, investing in space exploration requires a vast amount of funding with no guarantee of success, whereas this money might be needed to develop healthcare systems for people and improve education programs for students. Moreover, finding another home for all creatures on Earth could be considered an unrealistic solution because there is little hope of finding a planet with favorable conditions for life, while the money allocated for this can be extremely huge. In contrast, a more practical solution is that we should invest in protected environmental projects and encourage individuals to live a more environmentally friendly lifestyle. In conclusion, it could be the desire of someone who doesn’t want to suffer from pollution on Earth, but it seems to be an ineffective measure since there are some concerns regarding the effectiveness of this investment and several more urgent problems that should be prioritized.