It is becoming increasingly popular to take a year off between finishing school and going to college. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

In the recent years, more and more students are opting for a year gap after their high school before starting the degree college. This process has become a trend, which has both benefits and drawbacks of its own. In this essay both the aspects will be discussed. To begin with, a vast majority of the youth has become more career oriented than ever before and by the time they finish their secondary studies, they have an aim in front of them. For instance, it has been observed lately that the medical and the engineering aspirants start preparing for their entrance exams from eleventh standard and often take special coaching. However, due to the increased competition a few often fails to achieve their goals in the first attempt. So, those who are highly determined, tend to take year off to specifically focus on the tests and get a seat in their dream university. Furthermore, some other students who are still in the dilemma regarding which stream to select, can take slot before going to the college, to follow their dreams and to be sure of the course they want to go to. On the contrary, one of the major disadvantages of taking this leap is that sometimes it leads to a state of depression in a few children owing to the fear of being left behind their peers. For example, a recent research has shown that in nearly 60% people of the age group 18-20, the main cause of the depressed state is the comparison with fellows and the fear of failure. Another, demerits is that it is more likely that the students might lose interest in the studies during the off period and later fails to adapt to the education environment mentally. To conclude, no doubt dropping a year before starting higher studies has become a latest trend, but it could be an advantage or a disadvantage, depending on the situation. On the positive side, it can help the candidate in achieving the set goal and on the negative side, it can have a detrimental mental effect.