Many students at college opt to live on campus. What are the benefits and drawbacks of campus life?

Most colleges around the world, have huge campuses, in order to provide everything needed for the students living there. But more and more undergraduates have started favouring the campus activity. In this essay I will discuss the pros and cons of this trend. Firstly, a negative aspect of living in college accommodation, are that, in most cases you are required to live with several students. The problem with this is, firstly hygienic because you will be sharing a bathroom with more than 8 people. For example, the UK government surveyed and found out that more than 35% of diseases, that students living in dorms have, come from their bathrooms. Secondly, because of the plethora of people in a flat, everybody can be easily distracted by the noise that is created. On the other hand, hostels, give students the opportunity to create long lasting bonds with their flatmates. Moreover, they make their everyday life easier, being closer to classes and the library, while lowering the cost of life. To illustrate, from my own experience living in dormitories, I save a lot of time and money, because, I do not need to commute every day. Finally, staying in the campus, you have the chance to explore the college’s facilities, like gyms and community clubs. Taking everything into consideration, the campus life has a lot to offer to freshers and postgraduates, while some improvements could be made. Nevertheless, colleges should expand their range of facilities in order to fulfil the needs of all students.