Many people believe that individuals can do little to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a real difference. To what extent do u agree or disagree?

Global warming is one of the most alarming concerns that many countries around the world are facing. Some people believe that individual efforts do not contribute enough to preserve the environment, while others believe efforts only by the Government and large companies towards safeguarding the environment could make a difference. In my opinion, there must be a joint effort of Public, Government and large companies protect the environment. To begin with, environmental damage takes place due to improper functioning of industries and dumping of harmful industrial waste. Factories release their wastes which are loaded with chemicals without any treatment into the water, which makes it unsafe for any further use. A recent survey by Environment Pollution Authority of India stated that 70% industries around the world dispose of the remains of their factories without following government guidelines. The Governments should come up with strict rules and regulations for such defaulter companies who do not adhere to these policies. Moreover, Governments in various countries should implement awareness programs about how to protect our environment for better life quality. Use of cars operating on petrol or diesel should be discouraged and people should adopt eco-friendly method of commuting like public transport or bicycle which would result in less air pollution and healthier life. Many countries have banned smoking of tobacco in public places which also a great initiative. To recapitulate, the environmental damage has substantially increased over the last decade, which cannot be controlled by individual efforts of public or governments. Therefore, personally I believe, it is only possible by a joint effort of all the parties.