It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is no doubt that the trend of taking a year break after the completion of school and before starting the college courses has become more popular. In this write up, I will highlight the benefits and drawbacks of this new development / approach. To start with the positives, a significant advantage is that students can explore the possibilities and get prepared for the forthcoming assignments. For instance, during this time children can learn new languages, or they can enrol in a course which can provide them the extra credits. As a result, the candidates will have an edge over their competition, and get admitted to the desired college. Moreover, teenagers nowadays are interested in travelling to other nations prior to commencing another phase of their life. This is because some of them might be interested in doing some voluntary work and others might find it refreshing to gain knowledge about the diverse cultures. However, taking a year off can have some disadvantages too, the most obvious one of which is the loss of track due to the long gap. For example, some students may fall into the trap of bad influence and they might start using drugs, alcohols, and other harmful substances. This will definitely sabotage their subsequent. Furthermore, youngsters may be diverted from their path, if they start earning their livelihood. Such an environment is likely to curtail their interest in further education. Children are the prospective of the nation, and such mishaps can affect the entire nation’s progress. In conclusion, although having a year gap can broaden the horizons of the students by providing them a better vision of the society and various cultures, it can also deviate them from the right path and they jeopardize their ultimate.