In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In our modern society, many arguments have been made for and against the trend of some people having a very large income and its consequences. Personally, I believe that the higher salaries, provide a number of positive aspects which far surpass any negative points. In this essay, I shall critically examine both the points of view and outline relevant examples to support my view. On one hand, by ensuring that the people are satisfied with their compensation at their job, an increased level of productivity can be achieved. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that the companies who paid large salaries to their employees, had 5 times more productivity and motivation at their workplace compared to those who did not. In addition, a high income also means a higher amount of the tax that could be collected by the government, thus, allowing more funds available for the other important public services. On the other hand, by limiting the amount of income that can be earned by an individual, organisations could hire more employees. This results in an increased employment opportunities in the country. Furthermore, many people who are earning lower salaries, may feel cheated or unsatisfied, which could cause negativity among the society. This can be prevented by making sure a reasonable difference is maintained between incomes given to the workforce. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I am inclined to stand in support of allowing people to earn salaries without any restrictions. In the future, we could expect to witness this topic to be debated even further.