The mark of a successful person is to be wealthy and have a successful career. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our modern society, it is argued by many that the best way to judge one's success in life is through the amount of wealth a person possess. Personally, I agree with this statement and in this essay, I shall critically examine the given debate and outline relevant examples to support my view. Firstly, a successful career is a sign of hard work and motivation, as people with such skills generally have the upper hand over the competition. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that the people who did well in their career, also performed much better in other areas of life compared to those with an average career. Secondly, in our today's economy, it is harder than ever to become rich. In fact, many people struggle to maintain a financial stability. Therefore, a wealthy individual could be considered as a successful person because of the skills and mental ability that is required to achieve such a level of wealth. For example, a report published by the Oxford University revealed that the people with a higher financial status are generally better skilled and have more cognitive abilities compared to the others. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of this subject, I am inclined to stand in support of my view that, the financial status and career can be considered as a clear sign of a successful person due to the amount of effort, dedication and skills that are required in order to succeed in every aspect of life. In the future, we could expect to witness this topic to be debated even further in search of a conclusive answer.