Scientists agree that many people eat too much junk food and it is damaging their health. Some people think that this problem can be solved by educating people, while others believe that education will not work. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, researchers believe that the amount of fast food consumed is out of control, moreover, it can cause unhealthy situations and even diseases. When it comes to the solutions to this, there are two contrasting opinions, one supposes it is able to be dealt by education, whereas another disagrees with the effects of educating people. The essay will discuss both sides and explain why I approve of the latter view. On the one hand, improving people ’s awareness of detrimental substances contained in junk food seems to be the most possible way to keep them away from that harmful food. This is because a majority of individuals do not realize how acute dishes like burgers and chips attack them. The case in some developing countries where human health is not taken seriously is an example. Citizens there only concentrate on the convenience that fast food provides, not its long-term consequences. Therefore, people would be likely to consider carefully about their eating habits if they were educated. On the other hand, it must be said that education usually has no use. Today consumers are allowed to access information related to nutrition simply via the Internet, so most of them are knowledgeable the junk food ’s terrible effects. However, perhaps they do not care much about them. A piece of evidence is Coke, one of the most popular soft drink brands in the world. Although everyone knows that it includes high level of added sugars and processed preservatives, which lead to severe health problems such as obesity and diabetes, nobody has an intention to give it up. In addition, the increasing sales and the constant appearance of fast food restaurants like McDonald's and KFC in every corner of urban areas also present the individuals’ apathetic attitude. To summarize, despite the fact that educating people has certain impacts on coping with this problem, its range is extremely small and insignificant. Hence I personally think education has never been an effective way to make people change their diet.