Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest times of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibilities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Happiness is a desirable feeling in humans. While some people believe adolescents reap the most joy; others disagree. They argue that despite the duties associated with adulthood, they are actually more content in their lives. I personally agree with the latter view. Admittedly, teenage years are an individual’s carefree years. Thus, according to some, this equates to being the happiest. They emphasize that within this period, as a person’s expectation of life is far more less, compared to an adult’s, they are more content. To further illustrate, a typical teenager (can I write teen?) Usual decisions would range from choosing an attire for the day to selecting a college at most. Hence, they are able to go out, spend on what they want, take risks and enjoy to the fullest without considering many factors. On the other hand, others disagree. They highlight that in spite of obligations, such as: work and family, connected with maturity, it also comes with a lot of cheerfulness. Firstly, by that age, most people have a clearer understanding of their future and are more in control of their life decisions. To elaborate, the majority has already accomplished some of their basic goals, settled in a job and are financially independent. Hence, the stress factor of ‘what am I going to do next? ‘Is greatly reduced. Secondly, connections that are made later on in life are more strong and sincere, leading to more stable and lively beings; whether it may be in friendships or relationships. Finally, as we age, our daily surroundings change and differ and so does our perspective. To exemplify, more than half of the students in America are bullied at school and suffer from school-related depression. However, by adulthood majority have of troubled youngsters have sought help and are in a more optimistic place in their lives.. In conclusion, I believe despite the hectic lifestyle and obligations, an urbanized world has for older people, they are far more joyful compared to juveniles.