In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, telecommuting has gained popularity due to the advances of technology in communication. Although there are many benefits of working from home, there are many drawbacks to consider. On the one hand, one of the positive aspects of working from one’s home is liberty. Online employees can regulate their work effectively in order to achieve their goals. As an illustration, they can determine their environment, work hours, and breaks. Moreover, if telecommuter were fully committed to their jobs, they would achieve a higher rate of productivity. Virtual workers have less distraction rather than the regular employees have in their offices. For example, traditional work might be ineffective as a result of limited work hours, noise and side conversations. Therefore, home -based-office can be beneficial rather than conventional jobs. However, there are many merits of distance work, it can cause serious problems such as isolation. Telecommuters, who spend long hours doing their jobs without meeting human beings, can suffer from loneliness. For instance, my uncle who runs his business from home, feels lonely. Furthermore, online employees sometimes find it difficult to separate their jobs from their household matters. To illustrate this, despite the concentration they have in their property, they might get stuck with duties such as cleaning, shopping, and childcare. As a result, work -at- home employees can be negatively affected by such distraction in their own houses. To conclude, although working from home has many positive aspects such as freedom and the high productivity rate, there are many negatives to consider like isolation and inability to separate work from home duties.