Nowadays, people are spending increasingly large amounts of money on their marriage parties. Many people feel large and expensive weddings cause problems for the bride and groom. Do you agree? Use personal examples in your response.

In recent times, it is observed that the majority of couples or their family members have a dream of extravagant marriage. This aspiration can be a quite expensive one. Most people believe that costly weddings lead to problems for the couple. I completely agree with this viewpoint. To start with, maintaining social status is one of the key reasons why the money is spent lavishly, which leads to pressure on the couple. For example, my cousin brother had a big fat Indian wedding, which caused him to land in debt, as he was not financially sound as his other relatives. This negligence from his end build quite a pressure on his family for next five years. This lead to constant fights and arguments in their initial stages of their love life. Another reason could be if there are many guests visiting the couple they could not get a chance to meet the bride and the groom. For instance, I once attended a wedding where there were more than one thousand guests and the atmosphere was chaotic. Because of this the newlyweds had to spend 8 hours at the reception, just to meet people. It clearly reflects, that humongous weddings can lead to many problems for the couple. In conclusion, to maintain social status and pile the burden on the newlyweds will not be a great idea. Moreover organizing such big events can also lead to more pressure on the family. The above reasons clearly state that there are problems associated with expensive weddings. In future, people may realize that spending exorbitant amount of money is not a good idea, and the penny saved can be put to use in their future.