Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this affect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

Nowadays, many small grocers are in lockdown, according to the inability to eliminate the big supermarket. Thus, it has caused significant issues for local communities. There are some reasons for this problem, namely the growth of unemployment rate and health impact. In my opinion, the local government should operate to control the damage. To begin with, the consequence of decreasing the number of local shops resulted in citizens losing their job, This situation forced the small store entrepreneurs to dismiss the former employees in order to conserve the expenditure. Thus, the growth in the unemployment rate is not favourable for society. These quantities entitle taxpayers to reduce which affects the country economically. Furthermore, since the market is fully controlled by supermarkets, monopolizing the price of goods will occur and civilians have to suffer from it. Moreover, if people purchase the products from the supermarket, specifically grocery goods, it has instantly impacted the human body due to stale ingredients which most supermarkets can’t offer daily and include preservative substances. It leads to cancer and digestive problems if the population overdose on this substance. There are several methods to maintain small stores with the assistance of local governments. First of all, authorities should implement a tax scheme for companies with different incomes to balance the competition. Moreover, the governments can also encourage the banks to promote a special loan plan for local shops as long-term financial support so that supermarkets cannot easily eradicate the local stores. In conclusion, although the mentioned solution will help smaller stores still on the path, there are a lot of ways to solve this crisis. If local governments work overwhelmingly to formulate the equilibrium competitions, there will be fewer problems for city governments to deal with.