All students should study art and music in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It was not long ago that arts education in schools was thought to be a luxury, and art and music classes were cut from the syllabus to make room for more time to prepare for standardized tests. There are many people who are in support of this belief, however, I am of the opinion that arts such as painting and drawing as well as music are key components in improving learning throughout all academic areas and is therefore an integral part of the curriculum. People who advocate that music as a subject is totally dispensable and insignificant, argue that they stop young children from spending enough time on the more serious subjects and passing important exams. As per them painting, literature or music is a waste of time and there are other subjects such as Mathematics and Science, which can benefit the pupil in the long term. They believe, for instance, that for getting a qualified job and building a successful career, obtaining a good rank in the fields of science or mathematics is imperative. However, others, myself included have a firm view that arts & music education helps students’ intellectual skills. It fosters higher levels of thinking that carry over to learning other academic subjects as well as to life outside of school. Through the arts, children learn to observe, interpret, see different perspectives, analyse and synthesize. Similarly, arts study also develops creativity, which is one of the top 5 skills employers prize of the 21st century. Pupils receiving arts-rich training performs better on assessments of creativity than those with little or no such background. In terms of musical training, the biggest advantage is that it is an excellent way to relieve stress, which is significant for students who may feel overwhelmed by schoolwork and try to balance extra curricular activities. Music can, unarguably, reduce burnout and improve mood states In conclusion, even though other subjects such as science and mathematics are important from a career perspective of a child, we cannot ignore the fact, that if students are made to focus on arts and music as well, they are likely to better learners and recognized not only for the academic achievements but also in the professional life in the future along with stress free lives.