Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people's lives and should receive more funding. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some may claim that the time and money that news companies spend on international news are not well founded and they should instead focus on local news that influences people's lives more.I, however, do not fully support this claim. The way I see it, although local news and what happens in close proxy to people definitely have a larger impact on the locals, it should be noted that by logic local news is less important and duller in comparison to the global ones and if the media shift their focus to report more on them they surely lose viewership. Not only that by also people get bored and stop watching the news altogether. Hence it is in everybody's best interest to maintain the status quo. For instance, take a news channel that spends 15 hours reporting on local news such as weather and the price of goods going up five per cent while a major global conflict is happening somewhere else in the world. It is only logical that the latter get more time and funds. Overall, the news is more engaging when it is about the world. Moreover, reporting on international news is naturally more expansive. For example, a news agency should send a reporter to the other side of the globe and spend more resources to be able to create a news piece. Hence if a company spend as much money on international news as they spend on local ones they will not have the best of coverage. So, the funds should be spent in proportion. To sum up, I think the current way that media companies function are result of tried and tested methods and the amount of budget they allocate to each sector is thoroughly thought out. Therefore, there is no need to change it.